This is the first place you should search when doing music research. Use it to find background information about your topic, and pay particular attention to the bibliographies at the end of each entry. They can provide you with great sources!
A new gateway that offers users the ability, for the first time ever, to access and cross-search the vast resources of Oxford's music reference in one location. The cornerstone of Oxford Music Online, Grove Music Online, has been completely redesigned with a number of functional enhancements and new content. Oxford Music Online also includes The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Schubert AND "piano concerto" AND (analysis OR criticism OR interpretation)
Schubert AND (society OR culture OR politics OR philosophy)
A collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarships. F&M subscribes only to the following subject areas: Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, and Music.