ARTstor. Digital library of 1.8 million images of art, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage them for study and teaching. Users can search without registering, but must register to take advantage of features such as saving and downloading images.
Berg Fashion Library. Image heavy reference source drawing from multiple disciplines, this is the database to use for fashion research.
Bridgeman Art Library Archive. Click the Image Search tab to search for fine art, design, antiques, maps, architecture, furniture, glass, ceramics, and anthropological artifacts from the collections of museums and galleries.
Oxford Art Online.Click the Images tab to search for and browse images from Oxford Art Online and authoritative linked sources.
Europeana. Collections from museums, libraries, archives, and galleries across Europe. Find the copyright status of items under "Can I Use It?"
Harvard University HOLLIS Images.Union catalog of visual resources at Harvard focusing on artistic and cultural materials. Some records allow access to larger-scale images for education and scholarship.
Yale Digital Content. Cross-collection searching of art, natural history, maps, and photos from Yale University's Peabody Museum, Center for British Art, Art Gallery, and University Library Digital Collections.
ARCHITECTURE & LANDSCAPE
Chartres Cathedral. A collection of 4,000 images with detailed descriptions of Chartres Cathedral. Hosted by the Digital Research Library at the University of Pittsburgh.
RIBApix. Images from the collections of the British Architectural Library at the Royal Institute of British Architects, the world's most extensive visual archive devoted to architecture. Covers world architecture of all periods as well as interior design, landscape, topography, planning, construction, and decorative art. Many images are of social documentary significance.
CranachDigital Archive.Access to art historical, technical, and conservation information on paintings by Lucas Cranach (c. 1472-1553), his sons, and workshop. The archive contains over 12,000 images. (An Andrew W. Mellon Foundation project.)
F&M Visual Resources Collection. A curated collection of curriculum-relevant images for teaching, study, and scholarship. Please note, some material is accessible only with F&M net ID.
Getty Open Content Program. The J. Paul Getty Trust makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which it holds the rights or that are in the public domain. No permission from the Getty is required to use them. All of the images can be found on the Getty Search Gateway. Open Content images are identified with a "Download" link. Detailed information about the Program is located here.
Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Collection Online.Well over 400,000 images of objects in the museum's collections. Those believed to be in the public domain and free of other known restrictions are marked OASC (Open Access for Scholarly Content). Detailed information about OASC can be found here.
Pre-Raphaelite Online Resource. More than 3,000 paintings, prints, and drawings created by the Pre-Raphaelites of 19th century Britain. From the collection of the Birmingham Museums and Art Gallery, United Kingdom.
Otis Artists' Book Collection. Approximately 8,000 images of 2,000 books in the collection of the library of Otis College of Art & Design. Books can be viewed page-by-page, creating a valuable teaching and research resource for scholars, librarians, students, and artists.
Pixabay.Over 1.5 million royalty-free stock photos and videos shared by the community.
Unsplash. Gorgeous, high-quality royalty free photos, searchable by keyword or photographer.
nappy. Beautiful, high-quality royalty free stock photos of black and brown people.
FASHION, TEXTILES & DESIGN
Andre Studios, 1930-1941: Fashion Drawings & Sketches. Collection of fashion drawings from the Fashion Institute of Technology and The New York Public Library showing original, hand-colored fashion drawings. Extraordinary visual documentation of the American fashion industry in the early 20th century.
Europeana Fashion. Online fashion archive providing access to digital fashion and costume collections across Europe. The 700,000+ objects include clothing, accessories, photographs, posters, and illustrations. Also on the site is a downloadable Fashion and Intellectual Property 'Best practice' Guidelines pdf to assist site users with managing intellectual property rights for fashion images.
Helen Louise Allen Textile Collection.Open access to images of more than 9,000 items in the Helen Louise Allen Textile Collection at University of Wisconsin-Madison. Especially strong in ethnographic textiles and 19th- and 20th-century American and European home furnishing and apparel fabrics.
Textile Museum of Canada. Images of thousands of objects from the Museum's collection, representing 2,000 years of history and cultural traditions around the world.
Victoria and Albert Museum. Well over one-half million images from the V&A's collections, including ceramics, fashion, furniture, glass, metalwork, paintings, photographs, prints, sculpture, and textiles.
George Grantham Bain Collection. Photographs from one of the first American news picture agencies, mostly representing life in New York in the 1900s-1920s: working people, street scenes, celebrities, theater openings, and cultural and social events. Unrestricted use.
LIFE Photo Archive. Millions of historic photographs from the LIFE photo archive spanning the 1860s through 1970s. Categorized by decade and also by people, places, events, sports, and culture.
Pictures of the Civil War. Photographs from the National Archives and Records Administration, including items fro the Matthew Brady collection.
Images from the History of Medicine. 70,000+ images from the collection of the History of Medicine Division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art of the social and historical aspects of medicine.
Most of the web sites on this guide include information about how their images can be used.
Please use the images according to their associated rights and reproductions policies.
Policies vary widely, so be alert to differences.
♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦
Image descriptions and sources, top to bottom and left to right:
Edvard Munch, Aftenpassiar, 1889. europeana.eu | Lorenzo Ghiberti (circle of), Reliquary Casket, 1446. metmuseum.org | Louis Prang & Co., Junionia Orithyia from The Butterflies and Moths of America Part 1, 1860. metmuseum.org | Jackie Robinson comic book, 1951. memory.loc.gov | Suffragette procession, 1911. digitalgallery.nypl.org | Witchery of Kodakery magazine advertisement, 1909. memory.loc.gov | Anonymous (Italian), Architectural Drawing, 19th c. metmuseum.org | Maison Bury, Maastricht, Netherlands, 1925. europeana.eu | Cathedral of Notre-Dame north transept, Chartres, France, ca. 1194-1230. images.library.pitt.edu/c/chartres | Kathleen Cohen, Tuareg women in flowing garments, Djanet, Algeria, 2006. worldimages.sjsu.edu | Iraq map - current situation (June 12, 2014). lib.utexas.edu/maps | Boys in naval-style military uniform, ca. 1890-1900. visualisingchina.net | John Singer Sargent, Madame X (Madame Pierre Gautreau), 1883-84. metmuseum.org | Joseph Siffred Duplessis, Benjamin Franklin, 1778. metmuseum.org | Hans Memling, The Annunciation, ca. 1465-70. metmuseum.org | Louise Odes Neaderland, Empress bullet: an allegory, 1982. digital-libraries.saic.edu | Sally Alatalo, A rearranged affair, 1996. digital-libraries.saic.edu | Susan Happersett, The ABCs of beauty, 2006. digital-libraries.saic.edu | Cristóbal Balenciaga, Evening Dress, Paris, 1955. europeana.eu. | Margaretha Helm, Designs for Embroidered Shoes, ca. 1725. europeana.eu | Charles Frederick Worth, Hell or Nightmare, Paris, 1860s. europeana.eu | Lynn Pelham, Civil rights leaders singing during voter registration march, Mississippi, 1966. images.google.com/hosted/life | World War II. images.google.com/hosted/life | Mohandas Ghandi, India, 1940. images.google/hosted/life | Thalassoma purpureum (Forskal) from The Shore Fishes of the Hawaiian Islands, 1903. photolib.noaa.gov | Coral exoskeleton. photolib.noaa.gov | African dwarf frog. phil.cdc.gov