These noted books are just an example of what might be found for a given topic. In this case, books featured here are related to the "Longitude Problem" determining how a captain could pinpoint his ship's location at sea. Take a look at book descriptions and table of contents to help brainstorm. And take note of call numbers. Books with similar subjects are shelved together. Get yourself to the stacks and explore!
The Illustrated Longitude
by Dava Sobel (Introduction by); William J. H. Andrewes
Call Number: QB225 .S63 1998
Publication Date: 1998-10-01
A fully illustrated edition of the international best-seller Longitude. The Illustrated Longitude recounts in words and images the epic quest to solve the greatest scientific problem of the eighteenth and three prior centuries: determining how a captain could pinpoint his ship's location at sea.
by Dava Sobel
Call Number: QB225 .S64 1995
Publication Date: 1995-11-01
Anyone alive in the eighteenth century would have known that "the longitude problem" was the thorniest scientific dilemma of the day--and had been for centuries. Lacking the ability to measure their longitude, sailors throughout the great ages of exploration had been literally lost at sea as soon as they lost sight of land.
by John David North
Call Number: TS544.8 .W34 N67 2005
Publication Date: 2005-05-20
Clocks became common in late medieval Europe and the measurement of time began to rule everyday life. God's Clockmaker is a biography of England's greatest medieval scientist, a man who solved major practical and theoretical problems to build an extraordinary and pioneering astronomical and astrological clock.
Time and Navigation
by Andrew K. Johnston; Roger D. Connor; Carlene E. Stephens; Paul E. Ceruzzi
Call Number: VK555 .J64 2015
Publication Date: 2019-01-15
If you want to know where you are, you need a good clock. The surprising connection between time and place is explored in Time and Navigation: The Untold Story of Getting from Here to There, the companion book to the National Air and Space Museum exhibition of the same name. Today we use smartphones and GPS, but navigating has not always been so easy.
by Richard Dunn
Call Number: VK567 .D86 2014
Official publication of the National Maritime Museum's exhibition "Ships, Clocks and Stars: The Quest for Longitude". 300 years ago, amidst growing frustration from the naval community and pressure from the increasing importance of international trade, the British government passed the 1714 Longitude Act.
The archives of the Royal Greenwich Observatory, held in Cambridge University Library, include the complete run of the surviving papers of the Board of Longitude through the eighteenth century until its abolition in 1828.
A collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
Comprehensive international historical coverage (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. Features article (+ some book) indexing from 1955 to the present.
Comprehensive database in religious and theological scholarship. Includes index citations, journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from ATLA's print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). Covers from 1949 to the present.
Comprehensive indexing of 500 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982.