F&M College Library

Visual Resources

Accessing Artstor Off-Campus

Before you can access Artstor off-campus, here's a few things to note: 

  • You must create your account for Artstor on-campus, on our wireless network. 
  • Once you login on campus, your account has 120 days of off-campus (other wireless networks) access. 
  • At or before the end of your 120 days, login from a campus network, and your access will be reset. 

Questions? Problems with your access? Contact your librarian, Anna Boutin-Cooper, for help troubleshooting. 

Copyright & Image Use in Artstor

Artstor

Artstor is a great image database, with over 2 million high-quality images that you can access anywhere through the Library's subscription. In order to take full advantage of the collections and features of Artstor, you do need to sign up for an account. 

When you login to Artstor, either at http://library.artstor.org or through the F&M Library homepage, this is the home screen you will see: 

 

From here, you can search the Artstor database by keyword, or advanced search, and navigate your own collections. To add images from a search to your collections, see the "Creating an Image Group" section below! 

Creating an Image Group

Creating image groups is a great feature that you can use in Artstor to organize your images for class and other project work. 

From your search, select the images that you would like to save to your image group. Then go to the Organize tab, and select "Save Selections to New Image Group." If you already have an image group that you would like to use, you can simply select "Save Images to Existing Image Group" instead. 

 

 

Then, the screen will prompt you to fill out information for your new image group. You must at least select a title, but I also recommend creating some tags for your group. These can be anything that you wish, and can really help with further organization of your images. 

 

If you wish to keep your image collection to yourself, select "Only Me" under Who Should See This Image Group?. If you select "This Institution," anyone at F&M will be able to search for and see your image collections. Under either option, you can create a link to your collection that you can share with anyone - though they do need to have an Arstor account to view the collection. 

 

 

And now, you can see your image collection in its complete state! From here you can download the entire group, share it with friends or classmates, and access the metadata for each image in your collection. 

Full-screen comparison presentation in the new ARTstor Digital Library