TDF271: Dancing Earth/Dancing BodyTDF272: Dance and World CulturesTDF370: Music for Dance
This is the "TDF271: Dancing Earth/Dancing Body" page of the "Dance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dance   Tags: ballet, dance, modern dance, performance art  

Guide to Dance Research at Franklin & Marshall College
Last Updated: Jul 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.fandm.edu/dance Print Guide RSS Updates

TDF271: Dancing Earth/Dancing Body Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Isadora Duncan

 

Ansel Adams

 

Artists and Dance Forms

Students are required to perform research to present on the following artists and dance forms:

  • Isadora Duncan
  • Eiko and Koma
  • Pina Bausch
  • Anna Halprin
  • Project Bandaloop
  • Native American Dance
  • Hula
  • African Dance
  • Ansel Adams
  • Andy Goldsworthy

Use the resources available in the tabs of this guide to help you find information on your topic!

 

Some useful resources for your assignment

Find Newspaper Articles and Reviews

New York Times

National newspaper, provided by Academic Universe. Offers searchable ASCII text (no images) to abstracts and full-text.Jan. 1, 1969 - May 31, 1980, abstracts; June 1, 1980 through the current issue, full-text.

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Sept. 18, 1851 - 4 Years Ago, full-text.

NewsBank

Full-text access to major U.S. and international newspapers, including the Philadelphia Inquirer, Chicago Tribune, and local Lancaster newspapers. Coverage varies, 5 to 20 years.

News Research (Lexis-Nexis)

News resources, including newspapers, magazines, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blog and web publications, reviews, obituaries, and editorials.

 

Useful Websites

Atlanta International School, African Dance Videos: http://aischool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=424999

Isadora Duncan Dance Company: http://www.isadoraduncan.org/

Find Videos

Try Dance in Video or YouTube!

 

LC Call #'s and Subject Headings

Keep in mind that this is not an exhaustive list! 

Here is a list of Library of Congress Call Numbers to browse related to the required readings for your class:

BF 637 .C5 -- Conduct of Life (Psychology)

GV 1782.5 -- Choreography

N 6797 -- Special Artists (organized A-Z)

N 8217 -- Industry (organized by type of industry, A-Z)

NB 497 -- Special Artists (English/European, A-Z)

QH 331 -- Philosophy of Biology

QP 303 -- Mechanics, Kinesiology

Here is a list of Library of Congress Subject Headings related to the required readings for your class:

Biology -- Philosophy

Biosphere

Gaia hypothesis

Kinesiology -- Miscellanea

Natural disasters

Posture -- Animal mechanics

Remember to "think outside the box" for this class. Not every call number or subject heading will seem directly related to dance!

 

Need Extra Help?

If you are having difficulty finding information for your particular choreographer and composer collaboration, please send me an email or set up a research appointment for additional help!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip