Last Updated: Mar 4, 2013
Search our catalog for books, audio, video, gov docs, special collections & more!
Search for F&M online and print journal holdings.
To use E-Z Borrow, please enter the barcode on the back of your F&M ID.
This list of online resources can be used as a starting point for your research. Contact Scott or use the Ask Us tools at bottom right for assistance with any of them.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Covers Anglo-American, ethical, political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy. 25,000+ cross-references between articles and links to other editorially reviewed websites. A great resource for students to gain a rapid orientation with accessible summaries at the beginning of every article.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy includes articles on people, concepts, books, and other topics in philosophy. Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.
- Philosophers' Index
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields, 1940-present. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics, as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Key index to articles from major journals in all areas of the arts and humanities (including Philosophy). It provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references.
A collection of full-text articles from over 2000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues. Choose the PDF link from within JStor to properly view and print articles.
- Google Scholar
The academic/scholarly version of Google's search engine, providing articles and other resources, some of which will allow full text access. Not a comprehensive search, but a tool worth using.
- Google Books
Google has digitized a lot of out of print, out of copyright books, and their Book Search provides searchable, full text content.
- Shadek-Fackenthal Library
- Mon - Thurs 8am - 12am
- Friday 8am - 10pm
- Saturday 11am - 10pm
- Sunday 11am - 12am
- Martin Library of the Sciences
- Mon - Thurs 8am - 2am
- Friday 8am - 12am
- Saturday 10am - 12am
- Sunday 10am - 2am
- Archives & Special Collections
- Mon - Fri 9am - 5pm
- Sat & Sun CLOSED
- Media Services
- Mon- Thurs 8:30am - 10pm
- Friday 8:30am - 4:30pm
- Sat & Sun 1-10pm