This is the "Home" page of the "MUS 230/231: Music History 1/2: Atiquity to Mozart/Mozart to Modern" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MUS 230/231: Music History 1/2: Atiquity to Mozart/Mozart to Modern  

Last Updated: Feb 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.fandm.edu/mus231 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

E-Z Borrow & ILL

Borrow books from PA libraries. Enter the 13-digits back of F&M ID to proceed.

 

Books & more

Search our catalog for books and audio-visual materials. Spot call number trends and explore the STACKS!

Sample searches:

mozart and piano concerto and (analysis or criticism or interpretation)

mozart and (society or culture or politics or philosophy)

"elizabethan melancholy"

harpsichord

  

Recommended Databases

 Search recommended databases for background and contextual information, journal articles and additional book resources.

  • Oxford Music Online
    Access and cross-search the vast resources of Oxford's music reference in one location. Includes Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. It is also the access point for Grove Music Online.
  • RILM: Index to Music Literature
    Produced by the Repertoire Internationale de Litterature Musicale, RILM indexes dozens of information formats produced all over the world. Features works published from 1967 to the present.
  • RIPM: the Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
    Indexes music periodicals published during the 19th Century up through circa 1950. Produced by the International Musicological Society and the International Association of Music Libraries, Archives and Documentation Centres.
  • JStor
    Provides access to the core scholarly journals in many fields of study. The Advanced Search feature allows you to search solely within Music journals. Be aware that most JStor journal coverage ends 4-6 years prior to the current year.
  • Worldcat
    Features descriptions of books held by libraries all over the world. Good place to expand your book research, although you may need to use E-Z Borrow or Interlibrary Loan to obtain materials.
  • Classical Music Library
    An online listening library, featuring music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
  • Lexis-Nexis Music Reviews
    Search for recent music and opera reviews over the last dozen years in newspapers such as the New York Times and Washington Post.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip