Exploring musical identities of the Middle East & North Africa that shape regions, and transnational and diasporic music that galvanize cultures. Classical, folk, & popular musical traditions considered, with roles of art, popular culture & mass media.
Last Updated: Nov 20, 2013
Basic Search for broad searching across a wide range of disciplines. Advanced Search allows you to focus search within Music journals, most of which will be easy to access. Be aware that most JStor journal coverage is 4-6 years back from current date.
Search our catalog for books, audio, video, gov dovs, special collections & more!
(israeli or middle eastern) and music
arab and music and diaspora
Search for F&M online and print journal holdings.
Borrow books from PA libraries. Enter the 13-digits back of F&M ID to proceed.
This list of online & print resources can be used as a starting point for your research. Note to librarians: any link and discription can be added. It will take some time, but links will be made available through Serials Solutions. In the meantime, links can be taken from the A-Z List.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
First comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
- Oxford Music Online
Access and cross-search the vast resources of Oxford's music reference in one location. Includes Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
- RILM Music Abstracts
Over 200,000 citations on international music describing books, articles, and dissertations. Produced by the Repertoire Internationale de Litterature Musicale. Covers 1967 to the present.
- Historical Abstracts
Comprehensive international historical coverage (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers abstracts from 1955 to the present.
- Lexis-Nexis Music Reviews
Search for recent music and opera reviews over the last dozen years in newspapers such as the New York Times and Washington Post.
- Classical Music Library
Offers an impressive classical music collection enabling you to listen to a continually growing collection. Possibly a good resource for listening to clarinet tracks, in prep for creating a wonderful composition for my wife!
- Project Muse
Searchable access to scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics. Good resource for dance and film resources.
The accumulation of most academic and public library catalogs. Good place to expand your book research, although you may need to use Interlibrary Loan or E-Z Borrow to obtain materials.
- Shadek-Fackenthal Library
- Mon - Thurs 8am - 12am
- Friday 8am - 10pm
- Saturday 10am - 10pm
- Sunday 10am - 12am
- Martin Library of the Sciences
- Mon - Thurs 8am - 2am
- Friday 8am - 12am
- Saturday 10am - 12am
- Sunday 10am - 2am
- Archives & Special Collections
- Mon - Fri 9am - 5pm
- Sat & Sun CLOSED
- Media Services
- Mon- Thurs 8:30am - 10pm
- Friday 8:30am - 4:30pm
- Sat & Sun 1-10pm