This is the "Home" page of the "MUS 107: Composing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MUS 107: Composing   Tags: adès, baroque, metropolitan, music, opera, priest, red, tempest, thomas, violin  

The topic of the first paper will center on the Red Priest concert (Sound Horizons) possibly focused on Baroque performance and violin making. The second paper will center on a MET simulcast on Nov. 10 of The Tempest by Thomas Adès.
Last Updated: Mar 1, 2013 URL: http://libguides.fandm.edu/mus107 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

JSTOR Search

Basic Search for broad searching across a wide range of disciplines. Advanced Search allows you to focus search within Music journals, most of which will be easy to access. Be aware that most JStor journal coverage is 4-6 years back from current date.

  
 

Books & more

Search our catalog for books, audio, video, gov dovs, special collections & more!

Sample searches:

baroque AND music

violin AND construction

clarinet AND history

tempest AND opera

  
 

E-Journal Portal

Search for F&M online and print journal holdings.
  
     Try also Journals List
 

E-Z Borrow & ILL

Borrow books from PA libraries. Enter the 13-digits back of F&M ID to proceed.

 

Who is your favorite opera composer?








 

Red Priest - Vivaldi Four Seasons

Introduction to the group that will be playing for the Sound Horizons November 2nd concert. 

Recommended Databases

This list of online & print resources can be used as a starting point for your research. Note to librarians: any link and discription can be added. It will take some time, but links will be made available through Serials Solutions. In the meantime, links can be taken from the A-Z List.

  • Lexis-Nexis Music Reviews
    Search for recent music and opera reviews over the last dozen years in newspapers such as the New York Times and Washington Post.
  • Oxford Music Online
    Access and cross-search the vast resources of Oxford's music reference in one location. Includes Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
  • Grove Book of Operas
  • Dictionary of Opera Characters
  • Grove Book of Opera Singers
  • Worldcat
    The accumulation of most academic and public library catalogs. Good place to expand your book research, although you may need to use Interlibrary Loan or E-Z Borrow to obtain materials.
  • Classical Music Library
    Offers an impressive classical music collection enabling you to listen to a continually growing collection. Possibly a good resource for listening to clarinet tracks, in prep for creating a wonderful composition for my wife!
 

Trio Clavino - Schieckele's "Variations"

Just a taste of what clarinet sounds like in ensemble, and the possible range of the instrument.

 

Chat with us!

 

Fall & Spring Hours

Shadek-Fackenthal Library
Mon - Thurs    8am - 12am
Friday    8am - 10pm
Saturday    11am - 10pm
Sunday    11am - 12am
Martin Library of the Sciences
Mon - Thurs    8am - 2am
Friday    8am - 12am
Saturday    10am - 12am
Sunday    10am - 2am

Archives & Special Collections
Mon - Fri    9am - 5pm
Sat & Sun    CLOSED

Media Services
Mon- Thurs    8:30am - 10pm
Friday    8:30am - 4:30pm
Sat & Sun    1-10pm

First Year Seminar Survey

Telling us a bit about what you did or didn't learn during the Library workshop will help us prepare for future workshops.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip