This is the "Home" page of the "LIN 101/170: Introduction to Linguistics/Language and Society" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LIN 101/170: Introduction to Linguistics/Language and Society  

Explores components of language - sounds, formation, structure & meaning. Uses theoretical knowledge to analyze structure of other languages. Who's in charge of Language? Can you change or be changed Language? Are bilinguals smarter? Can languages die?
Last Updated: Oct 21, 2013 URL: http://libguides.fandm.edu/lin170 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books & more

Search our catalog for books, audio, video, gov dovs, special collections & more!

Sample searches:

Language and persuasion
Gender and Language
Political Correctness
Dying languages
Taboo language
Slang

  
 

JSTOR Search

Basic Search for broad searching across a wide range of disciplines. Advanced Search allows you to focus search within Linguistic journals, most of which will be easy to access. Use Journal Finder to see if Library hold print materials. Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain articles from journals not held by the Library

  
 

Journal Finder

Search for F&M online and print journal holdings.
  
     Try also Journals List
 

Language Circle

Fun snapshot of numbers of speaker of dominant languages.

Recommended Databases

Just a few databases that might be helpful. You can search multiple EbscoHost databases at the same time. Be sure to check Subject Guides on the Library homepage to review other subject areas that might lend to your topic. For example, if you are exploring gender roles and advertising, you might look at business resources.

  • MLA International Bibliography
    The Modern Language Association's index of articles, book chapters and essays in literature, languages, and folklore. Covers 1963 to the present.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Includes both Abstracts and Full Text Articles. Covers 1983 to the present.
  • PsycARTICLES
    Contains more than 100,000 searchable full text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association. Covers 1894 to the present.
  • Education Full Text
    Indexes more than 400 domestic and international English-language periodicals and yearbooks. Subjects include administration, teaching methods and curriculum, literacy, and government funding. Covers 1984 to the present.
  • Worldcat
    The accumulation of most academic and public library catalogs. Good place to expand your book research. You may need to use Interlibrary Loan or E-Z Borrow to obtain materials.
 

Steven Pinker - Psychologist, Cognitive Scientist, and Linguist at Harvard University

How did humans acquire language? In this lecture, author Steven Pinker introduces you to linguistics, the evolution of spoken language, and the debate over the existence of an innate universal grammar. He also explores why language is such a fundamental part of social relationships, human biology, and human evolution. Pinker touches on the wide variety of applications for linguistics, from improving how we teach reading and writing to how we interpret law, politics, and literature.

 

Fall & Spring Hours

Shadek-Fackenthal Library
Mon - Thurs    8am - 12am
Friday    8am - 10pm
Saturday    10am - 10pm
Sunday    10am - 12am
Martin Library of the Sciences
Mon - Thurs    8am - 2am
Friday    8am - 12am
Saturday    10am - 12am
Sunday    10am - 2am
 
Archives & Special Collections
Mon - Fri    9am - 5pm
Sat & Sun    CLOSED
 
Media Services
Mon- Thurs    8:30am - 10pm
Friday    8:30am - 4:30pm
Sat & Sun    1-10pm

First Year Seminar Survey

Telling us a bit about what you did or didn't learn during the Library workshop will help us prepare for future workshops.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip