This is the "Home" page of the "FRN 170: Americans in Paris" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FRN 170: Americans in Paris  

From the Founding Fathers to the Lost Generation, from Impressionist painters to jazz musicians, from the 19th century satirist Mark Twain to late 20th and early 21st century humorist David Sedaris, Paris has always fascinated Americans.
Last Updated: Nov 9, 2012 URL: http://libguides.fandm.edu/frn170 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Recommended Books

Everything I know about Paris & Europe I learned from Peter Mayle and Bill Bryson!

Cover Art
A Year in Provence - Peter Mayle
Call Number: F106 .B92 1998
ISBN: 0394572300
Publication Date: 1990-04-28

Cover Art
Neither here nor there : travels in Europe - Bill Bryson
Call Number: D923 .B79 1992
ISBN: 0380713802
Publication Date: 1993

 

Books & more

Search our catalog for books, audio, video, gov dovs, special collections & more!

Sample searches:

america AND paris

paris AND travel

paris AND (cinema or film or movie)

Can also expand your search in Worldcat

  
 

E-Z Borrow & ILL

Borrow books from PA libraries. Enter the 13-digits back of F&M ID to proceed.

Recommended Databases

Just a few databases that might be helpful. You can search multiple EbscoHost databases at the same time. Be sure to check Subject Guides on the Library homepage to review other subject areas that might lend to your topic. For example, if you are exploring US ambassadorial roles in France and Paris, you might look at government resources.

  • Project Muse
    Searchable access to scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics. Muse is one of our better resource for Film studies.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Includes both Abstracts and Full Text Articles. Covers 1983 to the present.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Comprehensive international historical coverage (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers abstracts from 1955 to the present.
  • Film & Television Literature Index
    A comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    The Modern Language Association's index of articles, book chapters and essays in literature, languages, and folklore. Covers 1963 to the present.
 

JSTOR Search

Basic Search for broad searching across a wide range of disciplines. Advanced Search allows you to search within Articles in suggested disciplines: Film History, History & Music, most of which will be easy to access. Be aware that most JStor journal coverage is 4-6 years back from current date.

  
 

Shit Americans Say in Paris

Of course there may be many more suitable videos on Youtube!

 

Fall & Spring Hours

Shadek-Fackenthal Library
Mon - Thurs    8am - 12am
Friday    8am - 10pm
Saturday    11am - 10pm
Sunday    11am - 12am
Martin Library of the Sciences
Mon - Thurs    8am - 2am
Friday    8am - 12am
Saturday    10am - 12am
Sunday    10am - 2am

Archives & Special Collections
Mon - Fri    9am - 5pm
Sat & Sun    CLOSED

Media Services
Mon- Thurs    8:30am - 10pm
Friday    8:30am - 4:30pm
Sat & Sun    1-10pm

First Year Seminar Survey

Telling us a bit about what you did or didn't learn during the Library workshop will help us prepare for future workshops.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip