This is the "Home" page of the "FND 102: Narrative and Group Identity" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FND 102: Narrative and Group Identity  

Examination of how people forge sense of group identity through stories they tell, in particular, a case history of the Vikings, whose literary legacy & sagas have endured to help define the ethnic & national identities of Scandinavians to the present day
Last Updated: Nov 21, 2013 URL: http://libguides.fandm.edu/fnd102 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books & more

Search our catalog for books, audio, video, gov dovs, special collections & more!

Sample searches:

(roma or romania) and gypsy

viking and navigation

navy seals

Also try a Browse search for the subject Vikings

  
 

JSTOR Search

Basic Search for broad searching across a wide range of disciplines. Advanced Search allows you to focus search within History journals, most of which will be easy to access. Use Journal Finder to see if Library hold print materials. Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain articles from journals not held by the Library

  
 

Journal Finder

Search for F&M online and print journal holdings.
  
     Try also Journals List
 

Vikings Who Were the Vikings Ep 1 HD

Neil Oliver heads for Scandinavia to reveal the truth behind the legend of the Vikings. In the first programme, Neil begins by discovering the mysterious world of the Vikings' prehistoric ancestors. The remains of weapon-filled war boats, long-haired Bronze Age farmers, and a Swedish site of a royal palace and gruesome pagan ritual conjure up an ancient past from which the Viking Age was to suddenly erupt.

Recommended Databases

Just a few databases that might be helpful. You can search multiple EbscoHost databases at the same time. Be sure to check Subject Guides on the Library homepage to review other subject areas that might lend to your topic. For example, if you are exploring gender roles and advertising, you might look at business resources.

  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Includes both Abstracts and Full Text Articles. Covers 1983 to the present.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Comprehensive international historical coverage (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
  • ATLA Religion Index
    Comprehensive database in religious and theological scholarship. Includes index citations, journal articles, essays in multi-author works and book reviews.
  • PsychARTICLES
    Contains more than 100,000 searchable full text articles from 57 journals published by the American Psychological Association.
  • Project Muse
    Searchable access to scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics.
  • Worldcat
    The accumulation of most academic and public library catalogs. Good place to expand your book research. You may need to use Interlibrary Loan or E-Z Borrow to obtain materials.
 

Fall & Spring Hours

Shadek-Fackenthal Library
Mon - Thurs    8am - 12am
Friday    8am - 10pm
Saturday    10am - 10pm
Sunday    10am - 12am
Martin Library of the Sciences
Mon - Thurs    8am - 2am
Friday    8am - 12am
Saturday    10am - 12am
Sunday    10am - 2am
 
Archives & Special Collections
Mon - Fri    9am - 5pm
Sat & Sun    CLOSED
 
Media Services
Mon- Thurs    8:30am - 10pm
Friday    8:30am - 4:30pm
Sat & Sun    1-10pm

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip