This is the "Home" page of the "ENG 206: Studies in American Literature I" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENG 206: Studies in American Literature I  

This guide is designed to assist with the class, and "material texts" assignment in particular.
Last Updated: Aug 29, 2012 URL: http://libguides.fandm.edu/eng206 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books & more

Search our catalog for books, audio, video, gov docs, special collections & more!

 

E-Journal Portal

Search for F&M online and print journal holdings.
  
     Try also Journals List
 

E-Z Borrow & ILL

For E-Z Borrow, please have your F&M ID ready to proceed.

For ILL, please have your NetID and password ready to proceed.

 

Material Texts

Recommended Databases

This list of online resources can be used as a starting point for your research. 

  • Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 and Supplements
    Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in America from 1639-1800. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and subsequent bibliographic works by Roger Bristol. This database includes more than consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides.
  • American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1
    Fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides (political materials) printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
  • America's Historical Newspapers
    Fully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876), Early American Newspapers, Series 2 (1758-1900) and Early American Newspapers, Series 3 (1829-1922).
  • Accessible Archives
    Primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals. Includes Godey's Ladies Book (1830-80), Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective (1860-1865), African American Newspapers: The 19th Century.
  • ANB Online
    The American National Biography includes more than 17,400 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. Updated quarterly.
  • JStor
    A collection of full-text articles from over 2000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues. Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles.
  • America: History & Life
    Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to present. Covers abstracts 1964 to the present.

Subject Guide

 

What tool do you use to begin your research?






 

Who do you ask for help when you begin your research?





 

Library Hours

Shadek-Fackenthal
Mon - Thurs 8am - 5pm
Sat & Sun CLOSED

Martin Science
Mon - Thurs 8am - 5pm
(till 8pm during Sessions)
Summer Sessions
June 4- July 3 & July 9- Aug 7
Friday 8am - 5pm
Sat & Sun CLOSED

Archives & Special Collections
Mon - Thurs 8am - 5pm
Sat & Sun CLOSED

Media Services
Mon - Thurs 8:30am - 4:30pm
Sat & Sun CLOSED
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip