This is the "Home" page of the "ART/CLS 473: The Ancient Roman City" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ART/CLS 473: The Ancient Roman City  

Last Updated: Feb 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.fandm.edu/cls473 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Topography: Essential Reference Books!

A Pictorial Dictionary of Ancient Rome - E. Nash
Call Number: Reserve desk
Publication Date: 1968

A Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome - Platner, S. and Ashby, T.
Call Number: Ref DG16 .P685
Publication Date: 1929

Cover Art
A New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome - L. Richardson
Call Number: Ref DG68 .R5 1992
Publication Date: 1992

Cover Art
Lexicon Topographicum Urbis Romae - Eva M. Steinby (Editor)
Call Number: Ref DG63 .L49 1993, v.1-6
Publication Date: 1993-9

Lexicon topographicum urbis Romae. Suburbium. - La Regina, A., et al.
Call Number: Ref DG63 .L49 2001 v.1-5
Publication Date: 2001-

Mapping Augustan Rome - Lothar Haselberger; D. G. Romano; Elisha Ann Dumser (Editor)
Call Number: Ref DG68 .R5 M37 2002
Publication Date: 2002

 

Books & more

Search our catalog for books, audio, video, gov docs, special collections & more!

 

E-Journal Portal

Search for F&M online and print journal holdings.
  
     Try also Journals List
 

E-Z Borrow & ILL

Borrow books from PA libraries. Enter the 13-digits back of F&M ID to proceed.

Library Resources: Journal Articles

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
    Citations, some abstracts, and some full-text links to scholarship published sine 1975 in arts and humanities disciplines.
  • Humanities Full Text
    Indexes English-language periodicals covering classical studies, history, and related disciplines, and published since 1984.
  • JSTOR
    Full-text scholarly journal articles searchable by academic discipline.

Library Resources: Online Reference

 

ARTstor

This tutorial guides users through the process of registering for an ARTstor user account.  

Useful websites

  • Stanford Digital Forma Urbis Romae Project
    This site is dedicated to exploring the Forma Urbis Romae, or Severan Marble Plan of Rome. This enormous map, measuring ca. 18.10 x 13 meters (ca. 60 x 43 feet), was carved between 203-211 CE and covered an entire wall inside the Templum Pacis in Rome. It depicted the groundplan of every architectural feature in the ancient city, from large public monuments to small shops, rooms, and even staircases.
  • Rome Reborn: A Digital Model of Ancient Rome
    Rome Reborn is an international initiative whose goal is the creation of 3D digital models illustrating the urban development of ancient Rome from the first settlement in the late Bronze Age (ca. 1000 B.C.) to the depopulation of the city in the early Middle Ages (ca. A.D. 550).
  • Aquae Urbis Romae: The Waters of the City of Rome
    Aquae Urbis Romae is an interactive cartographic history of the relationships between hydrological and hydraulic systems and their impact on the urban development of Rome, Italy. The study begins in 753 BC and will ultimately extend to the present day.
  • Digital Roman Forum
    This site shows digital model of the Roman Forum as it appeared in late antiquity. The model was created by the UCLA Cultural Virtual Reality Laboratory (CVR Lab).
  • The Interactive Nolli Map Website
    The 1748 Map of Rome, by Giambattista Nolli, is widely regarded by scholars as one of the most important historical documents of the city ever created. This project is a collaborative exploration of the exquisite Nolli engraving, through its historic significance and contemporary application.
  • Trajan's Column
    This is a site for exploring the Column of Trajan as a sculptural monument. The core of the site is a searchable database of over 500 images focusing on various aspects of the design and execution of the column's sculptural decoration.

Librarian

Profile Image
Louise Kulp
Contact Info
Shadek-Fackenthal Library,
Rm. 103
717-291-4242
Send Email
 

Ask Us!

mobile icon Text Us:
ask.us@fandm.edu
email icon Email Us:
ask.us@fandm.edu
phone icon Call Us:
717-291-4217
Twitter icon Follow Us:
askusfandm
Facebook icon Friend Us:
Franklin-Marshall-College-Library
 

Fall & Spring Hours

Shadek-Fackenthal Library
Mon - Thurs    8am - 12am
Friday    8am - 10pm
Saturday    10am - 10pm
Sunday    10am - 12am
Martin Library of the Sciences
Mon - Thurs    8am - 2am
Friday    8am - 12am
Saturday    10am - 12am
Sunday    10am - 2am
 
Archives & Special Collections
Mon - Fri    9am - 5pm
Sat & Sun    CLOSED
 
Media Services
Mon- Thurs    8:30am - 10pm
Friday    8:30am - 4:30pm
Sat & Sun    1-10pm

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip