Japan’s pop culture has gained world-wide popularity, including icons & genres like Godzilla, anime, manga and J-pop. This course examines several major genres focusing on historical & cultural background and their impact on Japanese society.
Search our catalog for books, audio, video, gov dovs, special collections & more!
Chosen student topics:
- video games and market
- Pokemon & business
- Naruto (anime)
- Japanese food market, sushi
- "love hotel"
- otaku (hardcore fans)
- infantilization in Japan
- anime and age group
- manga industry
- anime's impact on American culture
- Americanized anime
Basic Search for broad searching across a wide range of disciplines. Advanced Search allows you to focus search within Asian culture & film studies journals, most of which will be easy to access. Use Journal Finder to see if Library hold print materials. Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain articles from journals not held by the Library
A comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Includes both Abstracts and Full Text Articles. Covers 1983 to the present.
The accumulation of most academic and public library catalogs. Good place to expand your book research. You may need to use Interlibrary Loan or E-Z Borrow to obtain materials.
Bobobo-bo Bo-bobo! , Episode 1
Bobobo-bo Bo-bobo is a Japanese manga series written and illustrated by Yoshio Sawai, published by Shueisha, and serialized in the Weekly Shōnen Jump magazine. Bobobo-bo Bo-bobo is a comedy influenced by Japanese manzai humor that uses puns, double-talk, breaking of the fourth wall, non-sexualized cross-dressing, visual gags, and satirical and pop-culture references, which makes its non sequitur humor very specific to Japanese audiences. The manga series lasted from 2001 through 2007, divided into two separate sections with a distinct difference in humor and plotting.