Last Updated: Aug 26, 2013
Keyword-search the catalog. Try a broad search first to get an idea of the range of scholarship; for example, photography and culture.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography
Ref. TR642 .E5 2006
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography
Ref. TR9 .H25 2008
The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography
Ref. TR9 .F6 2007
Ref. TR6 .U62 T876 2002
- Oxford Art Online
Comprehensive online art and art history reference work. Entries include bibliographies and links to related images.
- The Oxford Companion to the Photograph
Technical information, recent scholarship on photography as a social and artistic practice, and photographers' biographies.
Cindy Sherman, Untitled Film Still #5, 1978
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Citations, some abstracts, and some full-text links to scholarship published sine 1975 in arts and humanities disciplines.
- Omnifile Full Text (was Art Full Text)
Citations, abstracts, and full text since 1995 of visual arts scholarship published since 1984.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
Citations with abstracts for scholarship published since 2008 and covering European visual arts from late antiquity to the present, American from colonial era to the present, and global from 1945
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA)
Citations with abstracts for journal materials published between 1975 and 2007, covering European and American visual arts.
Full-text scholarly journal articles searchable by academic discipline.
- New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Searchable access to digital reproductions of every page of The New York Times from the first issue on September 18, 1851, through December 31, 2009.
Search the library's journal subscriptions by title:
Click here to order books and journal articles through Interlibrary Loan.
Click here to order books from regional academic libraries through EZ Borrow.
Over 1.5 million images of the arts of sciences for scholars, students, and educators.
- American Memory from the Library of Congress
Open access to a ditigal record of American history and creativity. Materials chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas in the form of still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music.
- George Grantham Bain Collection
Photographs from one of the first American news picture agencies, the majority of which represent life in New York in the 1900s-1920s. These unrestricted-use images show working people, street scenes, celebrities, theater openings, and cultural and social events.
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs
More than one million digitized images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Library of Congress. Broad public access is offered for education and scholarship.
- LIFE Photo Archive
Millions of historic photographs from the LIFE photo archive hosted by Google. Images span the decades 1860s through 1970s. Searchable and browsable by decade and the general categories of people, places, events, sports, culture.
- The New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Open access to over 800,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, and photographs.
- Pictures of the Civil War
Photographs from the National Archives and Records Administration, including items from the Matthew Brady collection. Categories include activities, places, portraits, and Lincoln's assassination.
- Shadek-Fackenthal Library
- Mon - Thurs 8am - 12am
- Friday 8am - 10pm
- Saturday 11am - 10pm
- Sunday 11am - 12am
- Martin Library of the Sciences
- Mon - Thurs 8am - 2am
- Friday 8am - 12am
- Saturday 10am - 12am
- Sunday 10am - 2am
- Archives & Special Collections
- Mon - Fri 9am - 5pm
- Sat & Sun CLOSED
- Media Services
- Mon- Thurs 8:30am - 10pm
- Friday 8:30am - 4:30pm
- Sat & Sun 1-10pm