Books & more
Search our catalog for books, audio, video, gov dovs, special collections & more!
E-Journal Portal
Search for F&M online and print journal holdings.E-Z Borrow & ILL
For E-Z Borrow, please have your F&M ID ready to proceed.
For ILL, please have your NetID and password ready to proceed.
Civil War & Reconstruction
Recommended Databases
This list of online & print resources can be used as a starting point for your research.
- Encyclopedia BritannicaBritannica Academic Edition - The Online Encyclopedia
- JStorA collection of full-text articles from over 2000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues. Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles.
- ANB OnlineThe American National Biography includes more than 17,400 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. Updated quarterly.
- America: History & LifeComprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to present. Covers abstracts 1964 to the present.
- Accessible ArchivesPrimary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals. Includes Godey's Ladies Book (1830-80), Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective (1860-1865), African American Newspapers: The 19th Century.
- HarpWeek: the Civil War Era 1857-77Access to Harper's Weekly during the Civil War and Reconstruction eras. Provides both text and image searching capabilities.
- America's Historical NewspapersFully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876), Early American Newspapers, Series 2 (1758-1900) and Early American Newspapers, Series 3 (1829-1922).
- American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1Fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides (political materials) printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
- New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Sept. 18, 1851 - Dec. 31, 2008, full-text.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
What tool do you use to begin your research?
Who do you ask for help when you begin your research?
Library Hours
Shadek-Fackenthal
Mon - Thurs 8am - 5pm
Sat & Sun CLOSED
Martin Science
Mon - Thurs 8am - 5pm
(till 8pm during Sessions)
Summer Sessions
June 4- July 3 & July 9- Aug 7
Friday 8am - 5pm
Sat & Sun CLOSED
Archives & Special Collections
Mon - Thurs 8am - 5pm
Sat & Sun CLOSED
Media Services
Mon - Thurs 8:30am - 4:30pm
Sat & Sun CLOSED


Loading...
