This is the "Home" page of the "AMS 100b: Civil War Fictions" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

AMS 100b: Civil War Fictions  

Last Updated: Aug 20, 2012 URL: http://libguides.fandm.edu/ams100b Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books & more

Search our catalog for books, audio, video, gov dovs, special collections & more!

 

E-Journal Portal

Search for F&M online and print journal holdings.
  
     Try also Journals List
 

E-Z Borrow & ILL

For E-Z Borrow, please have your F&M ID ready to proceed.

For ILL, please have your NetID and password ready to proceed.

 

Civil War Fictions

Recommended Databases

This list of online & print resources can be used as a starting point for your research. 

  • Encyclopedia Britannica
    Britannica Academic Edition - The Online Encyclopedia
  • JStor
    A collection of full-text articles from over 2000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles
  • Readers' Guide Full Text Mega
    Indexes over 200 popular U.S. general interest periodicals. Covers 1983 to the present.
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective
    Comprehensive indexing of 500 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982.
  • ANB Online
    The American National Biography includes more than 17,400 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. Updated quarterly.
  • Accessible Archives
    Primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals. Includes Godey's Ladies Book (1830-80), Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective (1860-1865), African American Newspapers: The 19th Century.
  • HarpWeek: the Civil War Era 1857-77
    Access to Harper's Weekly during the Civil War and Reconstruction eras. Provides both text and image searching capabilities.
  • New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
    The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Sept. 18, 1851 - Dec. 31, 2008, full-text.

Subject Guide

 

What tool do you use to begin your research?






 

Who do you ask for help when you begin your research?





 

Library Hours

Shadek-Fackenthal
Mon - Thurs 8am - 5pm
Sat & Sun CLOSED

Martin Science
Mon - Thurs 8am - 5pm
(till 8pm during Sessions)
Summer Sessions
June 4- July 3 & July 9- Aug 7
Friday 8am - 5pm
Sat & Sun CLOSED

Archives & Special Collections
Mon - Thurs 8am - 5pm
Sat & Sun CLOSED

Media Services
Mon - Thurs 8:30am - 4:30pm
Sat & Sun CLOSED
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip