TDF271: Dancing Earth/Dancing BodyTDF272: Dance and World CulturesTDF370: Music for Dance
This is the "TDF370: Music for Dance" page of the "Dance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dance   Tags: ballet, dance, modern dance, performance art  

Guide to Dance Research at Franklin & Marshall College
Last Updated: Jul 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.fandm.edu/dance Print Guide RSS Updates

TDF370: Music for Dance Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Twyla Tharp

 

Garth Fagan

 

Igor Stravinsky

 

West Side Story

 

Choreographer/Composer Collaborations

List of choreographer/composer collaborations for research presentations:

  • Jerome Robbins and Leonard Bernstein, West Side Story (1957 Broadway, 1961 film)
  • Agnes De Mille and Aaron Copland, Rodeo (1942)
  • Leonide Massine and Erik Satie (and Picasso and Jean Cocteau), Parade (1917)
  • Garth Fagan and Wynton Marsalis, Griot New York (1991)
  • George Balanchine and Igor Stravinsky, Orpheus (1948) or Agon (1957)
  • George Balanchine and Paul Hindemith, The Four Temperaments (1944)
  • Twyla Tharp and Billy Joel, Moving Out (2002)
  • Twyla Tharp and David Byrne, The Catherine Wheel (1981)
  • Martha Graham and Samuel Barber, Cave of the Heart (1946)
  • Doris Humphrey and Carlos Surinach, Ritmo Jondo (1953)
  • Alwin Nikolais, Totem (1960) or Imago (1963)

Use the resources available in the tabs of this guide on on this page to help locate primary and secondary resources for your presentation.

 

Useful Databases

Find Newspaper Articles and Reviews

New York Times

National newspaper, provided by Academic Universe. Offers searchable ASCII text (no images) to abstracts and full-text.Jan. 1, 1969 - May 31, 1980, abstracts; June 1, 1980 through the current issue, full-text.

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Sept. 18, 1851 - 4 Years Ago, full-text.

Lexis Nexis Academic

Connections to newspaper articles (including New York Times and Washington Post), business information (including SEC filings), and legal resources (including state and federal case law). 

 

Indexes and Databases

Dance Education Literature and Research Descriptive Index

Created by the National Dance Education Organization. Research in the field of dance education in the United States including: student achievement, kinesthetic learning/brain research, creative process, integrated arts/interdisciplinary education, multi-cultural infusion, children-at-risk, equity issues, policy, certification and teaching standards, national and state standards.

JStor

A collection of full-text articles from over 2000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles.

Project Muse

Searchable access to scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics.

Readers' Guide Full Text 

Indexes over 200 popular U.S. general interest periodicals. Does include Dance Magazine, and a few other popular performing arts journals. Covers 1983 to the present.

RILM Music Abstracts

Over 200,000 citations on international music describing books, articles, and dissertations. Produced by the Repertoire Internationale de Litterature Musicale. Covers 1967 to the present.

Web of Science (ISI)

The Institute of Scientific Information's premier citation databases in the sciences (physical, life and social) and arts & humanities. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries. Covers 1965 to the present.

WorldCat

The OCLC Online Union Catalog. Nearly 180 million records of many types of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world. *NOW* available in limited format as Worldcat.orgMaterials from 1000 BC to present, updated daily.

 

Find Videos

Many video productions and interviews are available to watch at Media Services. Search the Library Catalog to locate titles and call numbers.

Try Dance in Video or YouTube!

 

LC Call #'s and Subject Headings

Because your class focuses on both Dance and Music, Library of Congress Call Numbers will fall in at least two distinctive ranges:

  • M-ML -- Music (located on the Mezzanine floor of SFL)
  • GV -- Dance and Choreography (located on the 2nd floor of SFL)

Researching Tip: If you find a useful book on the shelves in the library (i.e. "in the stacks"), look at the books surrounding it. You may find that the perfect book is located right next to the book you were originally searching for.

 

In addition to searching for the choreographer, composer, and work you have chosen for your research presentation, here are other Library of Congress Subject Headings and keywords to use and look for when searching in the F&M online catalog and various databases:

  • Autobiographies.
  • Ballet.
  • Biographies.
  • Broadway
  • Choreographers--Biography.
  • Choreographers--United States--Biography.
  • Composers--Biography.
  • Composers--United States-- Biography.
  • Dance--United States--History--20th century.
  • Dancers--United States--Biography.
  • ...

 

This is not an exhaustive list! Remember to "think outside the box" for this class. Not every call number or subject heading will seem directly related to dance.

 

Need Extra Help?

If you are having difficulty finding information for your particular choreographer and composer collaboration, please send me an email or set up a research appointment for additional help!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip